Big Syl Headlines the WNBA All-Defensive First Team

Big Syl Headlines the WNBA All-Defensive First Team

Sylvia Fowles, the 2011 NBA Defensive Player of the Year and Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings, the 2011 WNBA MVP, headline the 2011 WNBA All-Defensive Team. Seattle Storm guard Tanisha Wright, Atlanta Dream forward Angel McCoughtry (10 points), and Minnesota Lynx forward Rebekkah Brunson round out the All-Defensive First Team.

Fowles, who received 48 points (nine First-Team votes), led the league in blocks (2.0 bpg) for the second straight year. She also shared the league lead in defensive rebounds (7.3 drpg) and ranked second in overall rebounding (10.2 rpg) and double-doubles (22).

Sky teammate Epiphanny Prince commented on the award saying, " Syl is a great player, but I feel what makes her amazing is her ability to dominate the game on the defensive end and she showed that this year. This is a well deserved award and we are all very proud of her."

Catchings, who earned Defensive Player of the Year honors in 2005, 2006, 2009 and 2010, collected 55 points and was the only player to receive 11 First-Team votes (coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players). Catchings earns her seventh consecutive appearance on the All-Defensive First Team, the only player to be named to the First Team every year it has been selected (2005-2011).

Wright finished with 35 points (seven First-Team votes), McCoughtry with 28 (five), and Brunson with 23 (four).

Catchings, Fowles, McCoughtry and Wright repeated as First Team members. For Brunson, it is her first time earning All-Defensive First Team honors.

The WNBA All-Defensive Second Team is comprised of Dream guard Armintie Price (27 points, three First Team votes), Connecticut Sun center Tina Charles (22, two), Dream forward Sancho Lyttle (20, one), Indiana Fever guard Katie Douglas (19, two), and Seattle Storm forward Swin Cash (16 points, two).

A panel of the WNBAs 12 head coaches voted on the WNBA All-Defensive Team, selecting First and Second Teams by position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players from their own team. Players earned five points for each First Team vote and three points for a Second Team vote.

Below are the top finishers in the vote for the 2011 WNBA All-Defensive Teams:


Player | Team | Position | Points

Tamika Catchings | Indiana Fever | Forward | 55
Rebekkah Brunson | Minnesota Lynx | Forward | 23
Sylvia Fowles | Chicago Sky | Center | 48
Tanisha Wright | Seattle Storm | Guard | 35
Angel McCoughtry | Atlanta Dream | Guard | 28


Player | Team | Position | Points

Sancho Lyttle | Atlanta Dream | Forward | 20
Swin Cash | Seattle Storm | Forward | 16
Tina Charles | Connecticut Sun | Center | 22
Armintie Price | Atlanta Dream | Guard | 27
Katie Douglas | Indiana Fever | Guard | 19