James Wade Named 2019 WNBA Coach of the Year

NEW YORK, Sept. 11, 2019 – Chicago Sky head coach James Wade has been named the 2019 WNBA Coach of the Year, the WNBA announced today. Wade becomes the first Chicago coach to earn the honor in the franchise’s 14-year history.

Wade received 27 votes from a national panel of 43 sportswriters and broadcasters. Mike Thibault of the Washington Mystics received 12 votes, Dan Hughes of the Seattle Storm received 2 votes and Derek Fisher of the Los Angeles Sparks and Curt Miller of the Connecticut Sun rounded out the votes with one each.

In Wade’s first season as a WNBA head coach, the Sky finished with a 20-14 record to earn the No. 5 seed in the 2019 WNBA Playoffs. Chicago hosts the eighth-seeded Phoenix Mercury in a first-round, single-elimination game tonight at 8 p.m. ET on ESPN2.

Wade guided the Sky to a seven-win improvement from last season (13-21) and its third-best record ever. Chicago’s other two seasons with at least 20 victories were in 2013 (24-10) and 2015 (21-13).

Under Wade, the Sky ranked second in the WNBA in points (84.6 ppg) and assists (21.6 apg) and third in field goal percentage (44.8). Guards Diamond DeShields, Allie Quigley and Courtney Vandersloot were selected as 2019 WNBA All-Stars. Vandersloot broke her own WNBA single-season records for assist average (9.1) and total assists (300).

Wade was hired by the Sky as head coach and general manager in November 2018 after spending two seasons as an assistant coach under head coach Cheryl Reeve with the Minnesota Lynx. He was a part of the coaching staff that led Minnesota to the 2017 WNBA championship. Before joining the Lynx, Wade served on current Seattle Storm head coach Dan Hughes’ coaching staff with the San Antonio Stars from 2012-16.

A Memphis, Tenn., native, Wade played college basketball at Middle Tennessee State, Chattanooga State and Kennesaw State. He played professionally in Europe for nearly 13 years.

Below are the voting results for the 2019 WNBA Coach of the Year Award as well as a list of past recipients.


Coach Team Votes

James Wade Chicago Sky 27

Mike Thibault Washington Mystics 12

Dan Hughes Seattle Storm 2

Derek Fisher Los Angeles Sparks 1

Curt Miller Connecticut Sun 1


2019 James Wade Chicago Sky

2018 Nicki Collen Atlanta Dream

2017 Curt Miller Connecticut Sun

2016 Cheryl Reeve Minnesota Lynx

2015 Bill Laimbeer New York Liberty

2014 Sandy Brondello Phoenix Mercury

2013 Mike Thibault Washington Mystics

2012 Carol Ross Los Angeles Sparks

2011 Cheryl Reeve Minnesota Lynx

2010 Brian Agler Seattle Storm

2009 Marynell Meadors Atlanta Dream

2008 Mike Thibault Connecticut Sun

2007 Dan Hughes San Antonio Silver Stars

2006 Mike Thibault Connecticut Sun

2005 John Whisenant Sacramento Monarchs

2004 Suzie McConnell-Serio Minnesota Lynx

2003 Bill Laimbeer Detroit Shock

2002 Marianne Stanley Washington Mystics

2001 Dan Hughes Cleveland Rockers

2000 Michael Cooper Los Angeles Sparks

1999 Van Chancellor Houston Comets

1998 Van Chancellor Houston Comets

1997 Van Chancellor Houston Comets

About the WNBA

The WNBA is a professional, progressive basketball league that stands for the power of women. Featuring 12 teams, the league exemplifies the excitement and excellence of sport as well as its underlying cultural and social dynamics.

Now in its 23rd season, the WNBA recently launched a new brand identity, including a new logo and color palette, that embodies the youth, diversity and strength of the league and its players. Through the league’s world-class athletes, its in-game fan experience, TV and digital broadcasts, including WNBA League Pass, digital and social content, and community engagement programs like Her Time To Play, the league celebrates and elevates the game of basketball and the culture around it. For more information about the WNBA, visit WNBA.com