Ida Crown Jewish Academy Named Chicago Sky High School Team of the Week

The Chicago Sky has selected Ida Crown Jewish Academy as the tenth and final weekly winner of its 2017 “High School Team of the Week” program presented by Robert Morris University Illinois. The Lady Aces receive this honor after being nominated for their accomplishments on the court, in the classroom and in the community.

Ida Crown Jewish Academy is currently 11-10 with a 5-3 conference record. Their biggest accomplishment this season has been taking second place at their conference tournament. The Lady Aces have been committed to being better than they were last year both on and off the court. They believe the skills used to be an accomplished basketball player will help them be successful in life, including working outside the confines of practice, coming in early and staying late, being a great teammate and showing respect for coaches, officials and opponents.

If the Lady Aces are not on the court or studying, they are out giving back to their local community. Some girls volunteer their time at Keshet and Yachad, both Jewish organizations for individuals with special needs. Others volunteer their time with Jewish youth organizations Bnei Akiva and NCSY.

Supported by Illinois Bone and Joint Institute, each Chicago Sky “High School Team of the Week” award winner will be invited to enjoy a Chicago Sky game, where they will have the opportunity to watch the world’s best female basketball players. At halftime of the game, the team will be honored at center court.

All teams that compete in IHSA class 1A, 2A, 3A or 4A competitions are eligible to win a weekly honor. Nominations from parents, coaches, school faculty members and players are welcome and should be completed on the Chicago Sky website ( through February 22.

At the end of the 10-week program, each weekly winning team will be entered to win the “High School Team of the Year” award for 2017. The winner will be determined through an online voting process on the Sky’s website ( The winning team will be announced on Opening Night 2017.