High School Team of the Year Program Begins December 7

The Chicago Sky will launch its 2017 “High School Team of the Year” program presented by Robert Morris University Illinois on Wednesday, December 7. Since its inception, the program has recognized dozens of Chicago-area girls’ high school basketball teams for displaying qualities of leadership and sportsmanship on the court and for completing service in the community.

“High school athletics provides a platform for youth to develop as athletes, but more importantly to develop as individuals,” said Chicago Sky President and CEO Adam Fox. “We look forward to the ‘High School Team of the Year’ program to recognize local student-athletes who are active in the community and strive for success in the classroom and on the court.”

Each week between December 7 and February 22, the Sky will announce a winning high school girls’ basketball team. This team will be profiled on the Sky website where their successes will be shared with the community. Supported by Illinois Bone and Joint Institute, each “High School Team of the Week” winner will also receive complimentary tickets to a 2017 Sky regular season home game at Allstate Arena where they will watch the Chicago Sky, led by Chicago’s own former Marshall High School standout Cappie Pondexter.

All teams that compete in IHSA class 1A, 2A, 3A or 4A girls’ basketball competitions are eligible to win the weekly honor. Nominations from parents, coaches, players and school faculty members are welcome throughout the program. The nomination process opens on Monday, October 31.

The 10 winning teams will qualify to be named the Sky’s “High School Team of the Year.” The 2017 “High School Team of the Year” winner will be decided through an online voting process on the Sky’s website (www.chicagosky.net). Voting will take place from March 1 through April 14, 2017. The winning team will be announced at halftime on the Sky court during halftime of 2017 Chicago Sky opening night game.

A variety of schools in Chicago, and the surrounding cities, have been celebrated through the Sky’s “High School Team of the Year” program. In 2016, George Washington, Trinity, Elgin, Plainfield South, Stevenson, Christ the King, Peoria High, Bartlett, Universal School and Buffalo Grove weekly honors. Universal School girls’ varsity basketball team won the honor of the Sky’s 2016 “High School Team of the Year.”