East Aurora Ladycats Named Chicago Sky High School Team of the Week

The Chicago Sky has selected East Aurora Ladycats as the fourth weekly winner of its 2017 “High School Team of the Week” program presented by Robert Morris University Illinois. The Ladycats receive this honor after being nominated for their accomplishments on the court, in the classroom and in the community.

The Ladycats record is currently 3-8, they have a very young team who are improving every day and they have the drive, talent and enthusiasm to turn the season around. The Ladycats pride themselves on commitment to getting better and never giving up. The team’s on court commitment to success also carries through to the classroom where they have a 3.0 grade point average, on a 4.0 scale.

The Ladycats continue to positively impact the Aurora Community by working with the Feed My Starving Children Organization, and reading to children for story time at the local library. In addition, several players volunteer at local churches. The Ladycats annually host a Pack the Place Night. This is a conference game where the middle school students and their families in the district are offered free tickets. This year, during the halftime activities, the team will be honoring the Aurora Police Department.

Supported by Illinois Bone and Joint Institute, each Chicago Sky “High School Team of the Week” award winner will be invited to enjoy a Chicago Sky game, where they will have the opportunity to watch the world’s best female basketball players. At halftime of the game, the team will be honored at center court.

All teams that compete in IHSA class 1A, 2A, 3A or 4A competitions are eligible to win a weekly honor. Nominations from parents, coaches, school faculty members and players are welcome and should be completed on the Chicago Sky website (www.chicagosky.net) through February 22.

At the end of the 10-week program, each weekly winning team will be entered to win the “High School Team of the Year” award for 2017. The winner will be determined through an online voting process on the Sky’s website (www.chicagosky.net). The winning team will be announced on Opening Night 2017.